Happy New Year and What Is Happening In 2013

  • Image

Here we are…already in the year 2013. Happy New Year from  Joel, Thomas, Henry, Sam, and I. 

 It’s been a very long time since there’s been a post here, but I’ve been inspired by so many to start blogging, and asked what am I doing this year for an Ironman, so I thought it would be a good time to share a few things.  This year you’ll see more recipes, fitness ideas, and some posts by some guests. 

To clear the air here is NO Ironman on my schedule this year.  This has been a VERY BIG change, but one that needed to happen, and in the midst of it so many good things have come of it.  I am really going to miss it this year, but my intent is to return to Ironman in 2014 in Madison completely healthy and getting full clearance from the doctors.  I want to thank all those athletes, friends, family, and doctors that have been supportive in this difficult decision, especially those that have said “don’t you dare register for one!”  You’ll still see me running (I’ll be running a lot!), swimming, and biking this year, but all for different reasons. 

I firmly believe that all things happen for a reason, as this is what 2013 is going to hold not only for me, but my family as well, and not having all the training hours has allowed all of this to happen.  So here it is:

  • A group of us have decided to run/race Grandma’s Marathon in June.  This will be my A race for the year.  Thanks to a very kind and amazing friend I have a great plan in place.  This has been so much fun, as I get to talk to her more, we’ve gotten to know each other better, and the friendship has brought many smiles, when I wasn’t sure what this year would hold.  I consider all of this a blessing.
  • Joel went gluten and wheat free in late October, and even vegan some days, and as a result some serious health changes for the better have occurred.  Its been an amazing journey, and having more time allows more focus on nutrition, meals, etc. for the whole family.  I am going to ask him to post about these changes (hopefully soon), as its been pretty amazing to see how removing some things in his diet has reversed so many things.
  • Thomas, who is now 12, has made a pretty big decision for his age regarding his sports of swimming and running.  We will be able to go to many races together and both participate.  He has many goals and dreams, and needs a little more support from Joel and I right now.
  • Henry and Sam have new adventures planned for this year as well.  Sam has his eyes on soccer and Henry baseball, so there’s lots planned there.
  • Some of the things outside of family that I am really looking forward to is volunteering on some committees for health and wellness in our community. The school Walk-A-Thon and our local triathlon, along with some race volunteering.  I am looking forward to giving back to our community, as they’ve given so much to all of us. 
  • Family vacations!!  YAH!!  Kids are growing up so fast, and I don’t want to miss a single beat.
  • August may bring an epic adventure no doubt.  I’ve been talked into the Promises To Keep Triumph Tour, which is a ” 3 day, state-wide cycling/running event to honor our wounded warriors and provide them an opportunity to reintegrate into society through sport.”  Day 1 is 135 mile bike, 5k run, Day 2 is 75 mile bike, 5K run, and Day 3 is 115 mile bike, and 5k run.  Just waiting on a few things to happen to make this happen.
  • Last, but not least, I am looking forward to healing and recovering, relaxing more, so when 2014 rolls around I am at 100%.

The lesson I’ve learned this past year is that when one door closes, many more open, and that you just need to be patient for the new ones to open. 

Here’s looking at 2013!

Kim and crew!

Leave a Reply

